APK means Android Application Package and refers to an application file ready to install on an Android device. Android users can install several applications on their tablets and smartphones. In affiliate marketing, App install affiliate networks connect mobile publishers with affiliate programs related to driving mobile application installs for pay-per-click advertisers. Many app developers are constantly seeking new users for their mobile applications. Hence, app install affiliate networks are critical to the growth of app developers and their mobile apps.
Advertisers also benefit from app install affiliate networks because they help them increase their ranking on app stores by making sure many users install their apps quickly. Publishers also benefit because app install affiliate networks can offer high payouts for the app downloads they deliver.
APK affiliate offers pay very high and are also ubiquitous. Tech giants like Microsoft and Google Apps offer great programs, meaning affiliate markets and brands have so much potential to excel. Other advantages of mobile app affiliate programs include:
- With them, you can generate significant revenues with the right traffic
- Affiliate networks usually pay quickly
- When smart affiliates or media buyers buy traffic and optimize it to generate arbitrage between cost and value generated through the CPA offers, they can make a margin.
- High eCPMs with good insight and overview of the market
- Networks have links with advertisers that affiliates usually don’t have access to
Archived Link
In advertising, it gets to a time when an advertiser will no longer want to use an affiliate link or promote a particular product or service. When this happens, the advertiser needs to stop further payments from going through to the affiliate provider or website. To do that, the advertiser has to archive the link to prevent such payments from going through. Therefore, an archived link is a link advertisers archive because they no longer want to use the affiliate link to promote the product or service.
Chargeback
In affiliate marketing, affiliates usually earn commissions for every lead or sale made. However, there are situations when customers return products after purchasing them or when a sale is unsuccessful. When situations like these arise, the merchant deducts the amount of money the affiliate got for the failed sale from the affiliate’s commission. This deducted commission is known as a chargeback.
Consequences of a Chargeback for the Affiliate
When a chargeback is initiated, the amount automatically gets subtracted from the affiliate’s commissions. Hence, it seems as if the affiliate never earned any commission for the sale. A chargeback can happen on both Pay Per Sale (PPS) and RevShare Offers. When affiliates have too many chargebacks occurring under their affiliate account on the leads and sales they generate, it leads to scrutiny about their activities and a likely examination of their actions.
This examination involves going through the affiliates’ promotional strategies to see if they are counterproductive. If an affiliate is guilty of any wrongdoing, their accounts may be banned. They may also have their commissions forfeited.
How Can Affiliates Prevent Chargebacks?
There may not be any way to prevent chargebacks as sales may fall through for several reasons. However, marketers and affiliates can take certain measures to ensure they keep to best practices at all times. These measures include:
- Avoid misleading customers with bogus claims or false incentives of any kind.
- Detail the product well to the customer. Don’t hide key details.
- Go for quality traffic rather than quantity.
Correction
In affiliate marketing, affiliates usually itemize any sale made on behalf of websites. This itemization is to ensure proper record-keeping and avoid mistakes. However, there are some cases when affiliates forget to itemize particular sales. When a sale is made and the affiliate fails to itemize such, they may need to have the amount of money owed to the website corrected. The affiliate completes this correction by itemizing the sale or sales not previously itemized to determine the exact amount of money owed to the website. Therefore, affiliates always need to ensure they record and itemize sales made to avoid corrections.
Direct Billing Flow
Direct Billing Flow refers to a feature that allows a user to make a billing directly. Direct Billing Flow is provided through MSISDN identification, with which mobile users are identified via their mobile numbers. Direct Billing Flow transactions are made by mobile devices, and the amount billed is automatically deducted from a mobile user’s phone balance. All mobile devices can process Direct Billing Flow.
Most times, Direct Billing Flow requires mobile users to be online through a 3G connection. Mobile users also need to be on their carrier data connection before direct billing can occur. Two types of Direct Billing Flow exist. These are:
- 1-Click: This type of Direct Billing Flow is used when mobile users just need to click on a confirmation button on the offer page once to subscribe and get billed directly.
- 2-Click: This Direct Billing Flow type is similar to 1-Click. However, the difference is that it requires the mobile user to make an additional confirmation before subscription and billing takes place.
People always wonder why there is a need for 2-Click Flow when 1-Click Flow is faster and easier. The reason why 2-Click Flow exists is that regulations in certain countries restrict advertisers from using only 1-Click Flow. This is mostly due to mobile users accidentally subscribing to products that they never wanted to subscribe to.
Domain Name
A domain name is a website’s address. It is the address that people type in a browser’s URL bar when they want to visit a particular website.
The internet comprises a vast network of computers connected to each other via a worldwide network of cables. Each computer on this network communicates with other computers. To identify each other, every computer has an IP address, which is a series of numbers used to identify a particular computer on the internet.
Due to its nature, IP addresses are difficult to remember. Hence, domain names were invented to solve the problem of remembering IP addresses. Therefore, instead of typing IP addresses, you type the website’s domain names on a browser’s URL bar. Domain Names are unique, trendier, and easier to remember.
How Does Domain Name Work?
When you enter a domain name into a web browser’s URL bar, the browser sends a request to a global servers’ network that makes up the Domain Name System (DNS). The servers search for the name servers associated with the domain name you typed and forward your request to those servers.
For example, suppose Bluehost hosts your website. The website’s server information will look like this: ns1.bluehost.com; ns2.bluehost.com.
These servers are computers your hosting company manages. The hosting company will forward your request to the computer storing your website. This computer is also called a web server. Web servers have special software installed. Two of the most common web server software are Nginx and Apache. The web server proceeds to fetch the web page and the information associated with it. Once it finds the information, it sends the fetched data back to the browser.
Down Tracking
Down tracking refers to a tracking irregularity. You can find these tracking irregularities either on a publisher’s website or on an affiliate’s website. Wherever you find these irregularities, it is important that you take them seriously and not sleep on them. Also, you need to take steps to catch these irregularities as soon as possible to avoid them causing major issues. When you don’t track anomalies on time, the problems that can arise include contract breaches and missed payments due from affiliates.
Dynamic Link
Links can contain various elements. However, the dynamic link is the type of link that incorporates several elements and also includes rich media. With this link type, advertisers and affiliates can change the content and direction of a link in real-time. With dynamic links, you can send your current and potential users to any place on your website, iOS, or Android app.
Dynamic Links Have the Following Advantages
- With dynamic links, you can direct your website’s users to a specific part of your application or website.
- With dynamic links, you can create a social and email campaign that is effective, simple, and engaging.
- It can help you run personalized and successful email marketing campaigns.
- It can allow you to share short URLs for affiliate marketing.
Resolving Host
Resolving host status messages usually occurs when a browser’s DNS service is attempting to resolve and connect the domain name to the host IP address. Resolving the host takes place instantly. However, sometimes, the process gets delayed because of changes at the registrar’s DNS entry. If you clear the existing DNS cache to re-look up the new host IP address can be a quick way to resolve the issue.
DNS translates a website’s domain name to its IP address. Without this conversion, your web browser will not understand the URL in a plain text format. Hence, a DNS server brings up a website’s correct IP address from its address book.
However, when there are changes in the DNS, a mismatch between IP and domain, or the DNS can’t find the required IP address in its database, the effects can be troubling. One of these effects is the resolving host message you will get on your browser.
Besides clearing your DNS cache, other ways of resolving this issue include:
- Switching to public DNS
- Resetting your IP Configuration
- Refreshing DNS client
- Disabling your browser’s autocomplete feature
Return on Investment
Return on Investment (ROI) is a way of measuring the financial value of your digital marketing efforts. It is a method of measuring how your SEO activities have performed. It is easy to calculate ROI for pay-per-click (PPC) advertising. Since PPC involves paying a defined amount for each click on your adverts, you can easily input an exact figure on the investment across a specified period. Usually, PPC cost is the amount you pay per click plus the cost of your internal team managing your PPC campaigns.
When calculating ROI for SEO, it becomes more difficult. There is no fixed cost per organic click in SEO as it is more about earning organic visibility on search engines. Therefore, you can’t directly measure the specific amount of money spent or the impact of your SEO efforts on organic revenue generated from search traffic.
ROI of SEO measures the return of investment from your SEO efforts. Sites with positive ROI of SEO will have their organic revenue generated by SEO campaigns higher than the cost of the campaigns. However, take note that SEO is a long-term strategy and will not deliver a positive ROI immediately.
Revenue
It refers to the total amount of money a business generates. Revenue is different from income, which refers to the amount of money remaining after deducting the costs associated with the business. Every business aims to increase revenue and reduce expenses. There are two major ways of classifying revenue. These are:
- Gross Revenue: The total income a business generates from selling products or services.
- Net Revenue: The total income a company makes after deducting all expenses and cost of goods sold or the cost of doing business from gross revenue.
In online advertising, there is a term known as RPM. It stands for Revenue Per Mille, with Mille meaning a thousand in Latin. Hence, RPM means Revenue Per 1,000 Impressions. It measures the revenue made from 1,000 ad impressions. Publishers usually monitor RPM, while advertisers focus on CPM, which means Cost Per Thousand Impressions.
You calculate RPM from ad impressions and overall revenue. For example, if a website generates 10,000 page views daily and $5000 daily in ad revenue, it has an RPM of $50 RPM.
RPM = $500/10,000 pageviews X 1,000 = $50 RPM.